Made it to Nairobi   3 comments

Wednesday, March 31, 2009
9:00 AM Panari Hotel, Nairobi

I’m sitting in the lobby of what was once probably a very high end hotel feeling like a bit of a spoiled American.  The flight from London to Kenya last night went smoothly, but my brain would not turn off and I only got about 30 minutes of sleep.  I made it through customs in Nairobi (not everybody was!) by 6:30 but just missed the morning flight to Eldoret which translated to a 10 hour layover.  Weary and with nothing but a sidewalk outside the airport to wait on, I flagged down a taxi and asked to go to the nearest hotel.  The drive was way too fast and the morning commuters (mostly on foot) were darting in and out of traffic narrowly escaping death from what I could tell.  A ten minute drive took me to the Panari hotel where a very nice concierge allowed me to use the hotel gym and locker rooms for a small fee.  So, less than 3 hours in the country and I’m sitting in a posh hotel sauna letting the last 48 hours of travel melt away a bit.  I’ll admit, I’m a bit road weary and this oasis is much welcomed, but I feel a little silly taking a ‘spa break’ when I’m here to learn about third world medicine.  If my luck holds out this afternoon, my travels will be finished and I will reach Eldoret.

Posted April 1, 2009 by chrislux in Travel

3 responses to “Made it to Nairobi

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad to hear that you\’ve made it that far! It sounds as if a "steam" was "just what the doctor ordered" (haha!) after those long travel days. Best of luck with the last leg to Eldoret. We\’ll keep checking back to make sure you\’ve made it.

  2. Why didn’t some make it through customs? What were the difficulties??

Leave a Reply

