A Day in London   Leave a comment

Tuesday, March 30, 2009
5:00 PM Heathrow Airport, London

So far, the flights have been a breeze (Indy to Newark, Newark to London).  I had a 10 hour layover before my flight to Nairobi so I bought a train ticket to Paddington Station (yes, where the bear is from) and hoofed it around London for awhile.  I grabbed a map and made my way to the London Underground and over to Waterloo Station.  Mind The Gap!

First, I walked down to the Thames to see the London Eye.  There were a ton of people there; school children on field trips, people out for their lunch, and some visiting the pubic display of sculptures inspired by Salvador Dali.

 

Next, I crossed Westminster Bridge (Hey Kids, Big Ben… Parliament…) and took a walk through St. James Park to Buckingham Palace.  All the trees were blooming and people were sitting on the banks of a duck pond admiring the wildlife.

Finally, I walked through Hyde Park and headed back to the underground so I was sure to make it back to Heathrow to catch the next leg of my flight.  So far, so good!  Next stop, Kenya!

Posted April 1, 2009 by chrislux in Travel

Leave a Reply

