Trip To St. Louis   2 comments

On Thursday evening (February 26, 2009), I drove down to St. Louis to visit my friends Doug and Maureen Miller.  This was the first time I have been to St. Louis and I had a great time.  Here are a few pictures and stories from our whirlwind tour of the city on Friday.

(This is also the first day with my new camera (Rebel XS) which I’m still learning to use.  I’ll write up some info about the camera later)

St. Louis Arch – It was a cold day out, but you can’t go to St. Louis and not see the arch, right?  I’m really glad we did.  It’s an amazing structure that pictures can’t really do justice.  First of all, it’s HUGE!  630ft. tall.  Even though it’s several decades old, it still looks really modern… at least on the outside.

In and Up – You enter the arch through a ramp that takes you under the ground and to a series of elevators.  I call them elevators, but they are more like weird little yellow barrels with seats.  There’s a great view of the city from little slit windows at the top of the arch.

Anheuser-Busch Brewery Tour – Doug and Maureen also thought I might like a tour of the AB Brewery (they were right!).  We got to meet the Budweiser Clydesdales, tour the brewery, and sample a couple of free beers.  Yes, the tour makes you thirsty.

 

That’s it for this post.  I want to thank Doug and Maureen for being great hosts and showing me a fantastic time in St. Louis!

Posted February 28, 2009 by chrislux in Travel

2 responses to “Trip To St. Louis

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don\’t think that date means what you think it does. Nice pics!

  2. In-con-ceivable! Thanks Zack, didn\’t see that typo. It is fixed.

Leave a Reply

