Windows 7 TV Tuner Woes   Leave a comment

So, I put Windows 7 Beta (64bit) on my main Home Theater PC (an HP m9040n) which seemed ok at first.  Then, I started noticing some problems.  First of all, sleep was a problem.  If Media Center was running (which is always is on my HTPC) when the machine went to sleep, it would wake to a black screen that was unresponsive to the media center remote.  The only way to get back to media center was a Ctrl-Alt-Del on the keyboard then Esc.  Not very user friendly.

I turned off sleep and noticed that scheduled recordings were failing.  I would get a 1 minute long file that was always ‘recording’.  I assumed it had something to do with the Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1800.

My fix (so far) – I noticed in device manager that my SM Bus controller needed updating (got the driver from intel.com).  Next, I downloaded a new driver from Hauppauge.com.  So far so good!  I’ll post an update if this fixes things.  (No links this time, I’m not exactly sure where I got them! sorry) 

Posted February 12, 2009 by chrislux in Technology

Leave a Reply

