“Your new Windows Home Server has arrived. Now what?”   Leave a comment

So, Dave from the HomeServerShow.com just asked for a contribution to his site.  He wanted to know, as a user of home server, what I would do first when I first got a home server.  It’s an interesting question that some people might find helpful.

My disclaimer would be that as a ‘Franken-builder’, I would most likely build my own server rather than buy one.  That being said, there are a whole host of new machines out there that look pretty tempting. 

Ok, here it is…

“First, I would plug my new server into a UPS for battery backup and surge protection.  Next I make sure to plug my server directly into my router for top speeds.  I boot up as is and make sure everything is working as expected before going any further.  Once I go through the setup on my PC, I start adding my extra internal hard drives.  The only settings I change is to make sure duplication is turned on for my media folders and I copy all of my Music, Pictures, and Movies onto the server.  I’m a bit of a purist, so I’m not going to add any add-ins.  Finally, I add the connector to each PC and give the server 24 hours to back them all up.  That. Is. It.  These things basically take care of themselves.”

Posted February 10, 2009 by chrislux in Windows Home Server

Leave a Reply

