HP Mini 1010nr – First Impressions   1 comment

Last weekend, I picked up an HP Mini 1010NR from Staples for an amazing $224.  If I had been looking only at specs, I might have passed this by, but I am glad I went for it.

Here are some thoughts:

OS – I put Windows 7 beta on the mini, and it works great!  I’ll do a post on this later.

Screen – 9 inches is fine for me.  It’s a clear bright screen.  As someone who uses my Zune a lot, having a machine with 9x total screen size is more than enough.  In fact, the smaller screen likely saves battery life.

Bluetooth – Bluetooth is not standard on this model, but I had a small form factor USB dongle already (as I’m sure many of you do too) and being able to remove it to save battery life is nice as well.

Hard Drive – Yes, 8 gigs is small, but it’s a solid state drive which is fast, silent, cool and again, battery saving (I think).  Yes, it has been a challenge trying to keep my windows 7 install under 7 gigs, but I am making it work. 

RAM – The 1010NR only comes with 512MB ram.  This is fine for XP and Win 7 even runs well.  Let’s face it, RAM is cheap.  I had a compatible 1 gig chip lying around and am glad to have upgraded, but you can buy as much as 2 gigs for less than $30 bucks if you need it and it couldn’t be easier to swap memory in these things.  Also, the 1010nr comes with a wierd little 2 gig internal USB memory stick that I"m using for ReadyBoost to give it a bump up which works great.

Storage – If you need more storage, just throw an SD card in the handy slot on the side or use one of the many online storage solutions that are popping up.

Battery Life – Depending on what I’m doing, I get anywhere from 2-3.5 hours from a full charge.  Reading e-mail and browsing the web can be done for hours with no problem.

Bottom Line – The 1010nr is not as powerful as some other netbooks, but it is a great place to start.  It is flexible enough to upgrade to meet my needs and is powerful enough to run the latest OS and software.  I for one, love my HP Mini 1010nr.

Posted February 3, 2009 by chrislux in Technology

One response to “HP Mini 1010nr – First Impressions

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it,
    you are a great author. I will be sure to bookmark
    your blog and will come back at some point. I want to encourage yourself to continue
    your great posts, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

